ARMAA advocates for the interests of municipal governments from an administrative perspective.

The Alberta Rural Municipal Administrators Association was founded in 1921 (incorporated in 1922) and advocates for the interests of municipal governments from an administrative perspective. The Association provides a forum for the sharing of information amongst rural administrators from across the province.

The Association sponsors regular meetings with Deputy Ministers and senior bureaucrats from various government departments to discuss issues of concern; offers input on Provincial programs and services affecting municipal governments; and receives updates on upcoming and ongoing Provincial initiatives. ARMAA also hosts an annual conference featuring educational and information sessions, member networking, and a golf tournament.

ARMAA also cooperates extensively with the Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA) to advance the interests of rural municipalities. Sharing resources and participating in each others’ conventions are just some of the ways the associations have been able to support one another.

If you are in a senior administrative position at a rural municipality and wish to know more about joining ARMAA, please contact us at [email protected]

Association objectives:

  • Work in conjunction with other organizations that seek to improve the quality of local government.
  • To support the interests of rural municipal councils and rural Albertans through promoting professional standards members and a high degree of integrity, effectiveness and efficiency.
  • To assist rural municipal administrators in standardizing methods and clarifying issues arising from various legislative statues.
  • To promote a higher standard of efficiency for all members of the Association through the endorsement of educational standards and professional development.
  • To obtain recognition of the importance and responsibility of Rural Municipal Administrators.

ARMAA Executives and Directors

Mike Haugen


Kneehill County
[email protected]

Laura Swain

Vice President

Parkland County
[email protected]

Shawn Hathaway

Zone 1

County of Warner
[email protected]

Jeff Holmes

Zone 2

Mountain View County
[email protected]

Tony Kulbisky

Zone 3

Westlock County

Joulia Whittleton

Zone 4

County of Grande Prairie
[email protected]

Teresa Gratix

Zone 5

Camrose County
[email protected]


Chelsie Chapman

Executive Director

[email protected]

Scroll to Top